The beginning

It was looking at me. It was on the top shelf with a price tag of $12, precisely half the cost of the same kit on the other side of the venders room. I was at MosquitoCon 2009, and the kit that was calling to me at that particular moment was the 1/350 Glencoe NS Savannah. I had heard horror stories about the kit, but after the Minicraft 727 I thought I could take on anything. And it WAS a good price. So I got the kit and brought it home. The only thing going for it is that it LOOKS reasonably accurate. The hull is two piece, slightly warped and poorly fitting, with massively overscale detail and a bizzare mount for the rudder, presumably because the kit was at one point sold motorized. As I had heard, all the detail was overscale, and molded on railings abound. And to compound the problem, good, hi-res photos of Savannah are hard to come by. My immediate reaction was to stick it back in the box and slide it into some corner of my stash and forget about it. But it was such a pretty shp…

The truth was, I had been wanting to build Savannah for quite some time, especially since they began the process of cleaning her last year. So I decided to grit my teeth and start on. My goal: have the most accurate Savannah possible ready for the IPMS Nationals in Columbus, Ohio. I realized that I have plenty of spare parts in 1/350, so getting a good start was not a problem. I have fourth months to finish, and being free from school in the summer gives me no excuse for not getting her done. However, realizing that I could easily procrastinate that time away, I decided to set aside a full hour ever day just for Savannah. Hopefully that will help keep me on track.

Instead of boring you (and myself) with this ship’s history, I will link to the Wikipedia article:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NS_Savannah

Coming up, I begin my battle with the hull…

2 Responses to The beginning

  1. I did this kit. It’s a mess. I cut off the molded on railings, drilled out some port holes, then realized the whole thing is wrong.

    It looks like the Savannah but when you start to study your reference material, you may find, as I did, that it’s waaaay on in so many areas.

    I put mine back in the box and started hoping someone might put out a decent 1/350 or even 1/700 model of this ship.

  2. Mind the Gap says:

    I too started this kit and gave up on making a model of the real Savannah and have converted the model to super yacht. No work ahs really started and everything is still in the planning phases, but here are some of the plans for the new Savannah. The entire forward section will be an extended from the cargo hold area in front of the bridge will be extended to the area of the forward most crane. This will give the ship the look of some of the larger yachts. Along the new roof will be an area for a helicopter landing area, small passenger terminal and maybe a another pool. The area on the model where the lifeboats are will be the main helicopter landing area, hangars and maintenance area. The existing pool will remain and a smaller pool will be in the forward cargo hold area. Using photos, drawings and diagrams of existing yachts, the Savannah can be turned into a very interesting fantasy super yacht. In keeping the fantasy part of a super yacht, you can keep its nuclear power, but I will keep it conventional. The scale is between 1/350 to 1/355, so there a lot of details and small models like helicopters one could add to the ship.

Leave a comment